Texas SR22 Filing for Another State


What if I need a Texas SR22 filing for another state?

A Texas SR22 filing for another state shows proof of financial responsibility, filed in Texas for the other state that you came from.  If you currently carry an SR22 in one state but move to another state, you must fulfill the SR22 filing period for your former state, even though you no longer live there. Also, your insurance policy for your new state must have liability limits which meet the minimums required by law in your former (SR22) state.   You need to go to DMV and find out what those state requirements are.

Instant SR22 Insurance Quote

For instance, if you move to Texas and are trying to get a license, if there are any issues with your out-of-state license being released from the state you moved from, or you are required to continue to carry an SR22 in that state, you will be required to file an SR22 in that state before they release your license.

You usually need an SR22 if the police caught you driving without insurance, then you’ll be required to carry the SR22 for a specified amount of time (usually three years). Once you properly fulfill that time period, your SR-22 status expires. SR-22s also are associated with the following:   DUI or DWI or any serious moving violation At-fault accidents while driving without insurance, repeat traffic offenses or getting too many tickets in a short time period License suspension or revoked license. Expect a long relationship with your SR-22 similar to a probationary period after a criminal offense. You must carry continuous insurance during the specified period of time before SR-22 status is removed. If your policy lapses or is canceled, your auto insurance company is required to notify the state immediately and your license will be suspended again.

If your insurance is cancelled your insurance company will  cancel or terminate your SR-22 by filing a separate form with the state (an SR-26 in many states), generally 10 days before the SR-22’s expiration. SR-22s are state specific — what’s required in one state may not apply in another state.

For more information on state specific sr22 filings, contact our local agents office:

512-339-2901

State-by-state minimum coverage requirements

The following table provides up-to-date information on each state’s minimum coverage requirements as of August 1, 2016. The first two figures refer to bodily injury liability limits, and the third figure refers to the property damage liability limit. For example, 25/50/25 means coverage up to $20=5,000 for each person injured in an accident, up to a maximum of $50,000 for the entire accident, and $25,000 worth of coverage for property damage. The state minimums are based on the most current information available. But you should always check your specific state requirements to verify these figures.

State Type(s) of Coverage Required Minimum Liability Limits
AL Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
AK Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 50/100/25
AZ Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 15/30/10
AR Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
CA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 15/30/5
CO Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/15
CT Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist 20/40/10
DE Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 15/30/10
DC Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
FL Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 10/20/10
GA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
HI Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 20/40/10
ID Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/15
IL Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 20/40/15
IN Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/10
IA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 20/40/15
KS Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
KY Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 25/50/10
LA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 15/30/25
ME Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist 50/100/25
MD Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 20/40/15
MA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 20/40/5
MI Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 20/40/10
MN Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist 30/60/10
MS Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
MO Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
MT Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/10
NE Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
NV Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 15/30/10
NH Financial Responsibility Only, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
NJ Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability (Standard Limits Shown), Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 15/30/5
NM Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/10
NY Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
NC Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 30/60/25
ND Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
OH Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 12.5/25/7.5
OK Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
OR Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
PA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 15/30/5
RI Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
SC Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
SD Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
TN Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/15
TX Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
UT Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 25/65/15
VT Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist 25/50/10
VA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/20
WA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/10
WV Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 20/40/10
WI Financial Responsibility Only, Uninsured Motorist 50/100/15
WY Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/20

What is a fr44 insurance?

FR44 insurance is currently used in Virginia and Florida.  It is similar to the SR22 financial responsibility certificate that you must file with the state after certain convictions.  Check your state liability requirements.  Austin Insurance Group can process the FR44 for you if you live in Texas and need the FR44 filing for another state.

Is the minimum coverage required enough coverage?

The above table represents only required minimums. However, it will be in your best interest to purchase coverage above the minimums if you can afford to, so that you’re adequately protected. With bodily injury liability, for instance, most insurance professionals recommend that your coverage limits be at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident, especially if you are a homeowner.  And in Texas, when you increase you limits to 50/100/50, you almost double your coverage, but the cost is minimal.

What is SR22 Insurance?