Drive Legal in Texas
As a new Texas resident, you have 30 days to “drive legal in Texas” by registering your vehicle and getting your Texas driver’s license.
Before you register your vehicle, though, it must pass the state inspection process. And before you get an inspection, you must purchase Texas auto insurance.
Here are the four steps to follow:
1. Purchase Texas Auto Insurance. State minimum requirements are $30,000 bodily injury liability per person/$60,000 per accident and $25,000 property damage liability
2. Take your vehicle to a local state inspection station. Find a list of what types of inspections are required in your county (plus an inspections-station locator) at the Department of Public Safety Web site. Make sure you take your current driver’s license and proof of insurance. You will need to show proof that you carry the minimum coverage required by the state: $30,000 bodily injury or death to one person; $60,000 bodily injury or death to two or more persons; and $25,000 injury or destruction to other property.
3. The inspection station will give you a verification form to bring to the county tax assessor-collector’s office when your car passes the inspection. Here you will obtain a Texas vehicle registration sticker and license plates. You’ll need proof of ownership, such as registration or title from your previous home state, as well as proof of your insurance.
4. Then apply for a Texas driver’s license at the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) office in your area. Make sure to bring an ID, proof of Social Security number, proof of liability insurance, and proof of Texas vehicle registration. Expect to provide a thumbprint and surrender any valid out-of-state license you currently have.
Austin Insurance Group | Local Texas Auto Insurance Agent | (512)339-2901 | Moving to Austin, Texas | Drive Legal in Texas once you get here.